Vice-President appeals to citizens to make water conservation integral part of daily lives, says Jan Andolan will accelerate Jal Andolan

Published by News Desk June 17, 2023


Reinvigorate traditional water harvesting structures through the 3Rs of Reduce, Reuse and Recycle, says the Vice-President
Vice-President calls upon public representatives to make water conservation a priority and lead by example
Conservation of nature is an inalienable facet of India’s civilizational ethos- Vice-President
The Vice-President confers the 4th National Water Awards

New Delhi, June 18 The Vice-President Jagdeep Dhankhar today appealed to all citizens to make conservation of water an integral aspect of their daily lives, so that the spirit of Jan Andolan can accelerate the cause of Jal Andolan.

During his address at the 4th National Water Awards at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi today, the Vice-President also called for reinvigorating our traditional water harvesting structures such as johads (ponds) through renewed commitment to the “3Rs of Reduce, Reuse and Recycle.”

Congratulating the winners for their exemplary work in the field of water resources management, the Vice-President called upon all public representatives at the Panchayat, State and National level to make water conservation a priority and lead by example.

Drawing attention to Constitutional provisions such as the Directive Principles of State Policy and the Fundamental Duties that emphasize on the conservation of water and environment, the Vice-President highlighted the transformational impact that Government initiatives such as Jal Jeevan Mission are having on the lives of ordinary citizens.

Noting that conservation of water has always been an inalienable facet of India’s civilizational ethos, the Vice-President said that it is the responsibility of every citizen to ensure the wise use of nature’s gifts. “Natural resources utilisation has to be as per our optimum necessity,” he stressed.

At the 4th National Water Awards Ceremony, which was inaugurated by the Vice-President by a symbolic Jal Kalash ceremony, 41 winners were felicitated across 11 categories.

The Vice-President also inaugurated a short film featuring the animated character Piku, the mascot of the National Water Mission, to be telecast on Doordarshan for amplifying the message of water conservation.

Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Union Minister for Jal Shakti, Prahlad Singh Patel, Minister of State for Jal Shakti and Food Processing Industries, Bishweswar Tudu, Minister of State for Jal Shakti and Tribal Affairs, Pankaj Kumar, Secretary, Department of Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation, Ministry of Jal Shakti, and other senior officers from the Ministry of Jal Shakti were also present on the occasion.


CategoriesName of winnersRank
Best StateMadhya Pradesh1st
Andhra Pradesh3rd (Joint Winner)
Bihar3rd (Joint Winner)
Best DistrictGanjam, Odisha1st
Namakkal, Tamil Nadu2nd
Adilabad, Telangana3rd
Best Village PanchayatJagannadhapuram Village Panchayat, Bhadradri Kothagudem district, Telangana1st
Kadavur Village Panchayat, Karur district, Tamil Nadu2nd(Joint Winner)
Manickal Village Panchayat, Thiruvananthapuram district, Kerala2nd (Joint Winner)
Kadegaon Village Panchayat,  Jalna district, Maharashtra3rd (Joint Winner)
Mawkyrdep Village Panchayat, Bhoi Rymbong Block, Ri Bhoi district, Meghalaya3rd (Joint Winner)
Best Urban Local BodyChandigarh Municipal Corporation, Chandigarh1st
Indore Municipal Corporation, Indore, Madhya Pradesh2nd
Surat Municipal Corporation, Surat, Gujarat3rd (Joint Winner)
Malkapur Municipal Council, Karad, Satara, Maharashtra3rd (Joint Winner)
Best Media(Print and Electronic)Advance Water Digest Private Limited Gurugram, Haryana1st
Centre For Environment And Sustainable Development, Srinagar, Jammu And Kashmir2nd (Joint Winner)
Regional News Unit, All India Radio, Guwahati, Assam2nd (Joint Winner)
Network Eighteen, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh3rd
CategoriesName of winnersRank
Best SchoolJamiyatpura Primary School, Mehsana, Gujarat1st
KGBV School, Chagalamarri, Nandyal, Andhra Pradesh2nd
Government Senior Secondary School (GSSS), Baori, Jodhpur, Rajasthan3rd
Best Institution for Campus usageShri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board, Reasi, Jammu and Kashmir1st
Maulana Azad  National Urdu University, Hyderabad, Telangana2nd
Central University of Punjab, Bathinda, Punjab3rd
Best IndustryBarauni Thermal Power Station, Begusarai, Bihar1st
Honda Motorcycle And Scooter India Pvt Ltd, Kolar, Karnataka2nd
Apollo Tyres Limited, Kanchipuram, Tamil Nadu3rd (Joint Winner)
CCL Products India Ltd, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh3rd (Joint Winner)
Best NGOArpan Seva Sansthan, Udaipur, Rajasthan1st
AROH Foundation, NOIDA, Uttar Pradesh2nd
Bharatiya Jain Sanghatana, Pune, Maharashtra3rd
Accion Fraterna, Anantapur, Andhra PradeshSpecial Mention (Consolation)
Best Water User AssociationThe Sanjeevani Piyat Sahkari Mandli Ltd, Narmada, Gujarat1st
Water User Association Nine Y-II, Ganganagar, Rajasthan2nd (Joint Winner)
Hatuka Vibhag Piyat Mandali Ltd, Tapi, Gujarat2nd (Joint Winner)
Keliya Jamnakantha Nehroni Sahkari Mandali Ltd., Ambach, Navsari, Gujarat3rd
Best industry for CSRHCL Technologies Ltd., Noida, Uttar Pradesh1st
Coca Cola India, Gurugram, Haryana2nd
GHCL Limited, Gir Somnath, Gujarat3rd
Related posts