Mamata ministry to have 43 ministers, Amit Mitra also included

By Sarkaritel May 10, 2021 11:10

Kolkata, May 10  The Mamata Banerjee government ministry will be expanded on Monday morning, with the induction of 24 cabinet ministers, 10 ministers of state with independent charge and another 9 ministers of state, as per the list released on Sunday.

The swearing-in ceremony is due to be held at 10.45 a.m.

The 24-member cabinet includes some old names like former ministers Subrata Mukherjee (Panchayati Raj), Partha Chatterjee (Education), Arup Biswas (Urban Development), Jyotipriyo Mullick (Food and Civil Supplies), Sovandeb Chattopadhyay (Power) and Bratya Basu (Science and Technology) and some new faces that include long-time MLA Bamkim Chandra Hazra, Madhyamgram MLA Rathin Ghosh, and newly-elected MLAs like Pulok Roy and Biplab Mitra.

The most surprising name is of perhaps former Finance Minister Amit Mitra, who had not contested this election due to ill-health.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was worried about the key portfolio as Mitra was unable to handle the ministry for the last few days because of his deteriorating health condition. He didn’t even present the budget last time.

Banerjee had to strike a balance between the old faces and the newly-elected MLAs and she successfully did it including some promising names in her ministry.

Also among the new ministers are Manas Ranajan Bhunia, who is also a sitting Rajya Sabha member, and set to quit the upper house of Parliament as he was elected to the Assembly.

Banerjee is likely to use Bhunia’s medical background to develop the state’s roadmap against Covid. Banerjee also included two other medical practitioners like Sashi Panja and Chandrima Bhattacharya in the ministry. Panja has been sworn in as cabinet minister and Bhattacharyay was MoS in the last ministry.

Among the other new faces who were included in the ministry are Mamata loyalist and Pandua MLA Ratna De Nag and MLA from West Midnapore Akhil Giri who was instrumental in destroying the BJP in West Midnapore.

Apart from that, Banerjee has included former IPS officer Humayun Kabir who defeated another IPS officer Bharati Ghosh from Ghatal in East Midnapore. Santhali actress Birbaha Hansda, former cricketer Manoj Tiwari and Sabina Yeasmin were also included as Ministers of State.

Full List of West Bengal Ministers 2021

Mamata Banerjee: Chief Minister

Cabinet Minister

2. Partha Chatterjee
3. Amit Mitra
4. Sadhan Pande
5. Jyoti Priya Mallick
6. Bankim Chandra Hazra
7. Manas Ranjan Bhunia
8. Saumen Kumar Mahapatra
9. Moloy Ghatak
10. Aroop Biswas
11. Ujjal Biswas
12. Arup Roy
13. Rathin Ghosh
14. Firhad Hakim
15. Chandranath Sinha
16. Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay
17. Bratya Basu
18. Pular Roy
19. Shashi Panja
20. Md. Ghulam Rabbani
21. Biplab Mitra
22. Javed Ahmed Khan
23. Swapan Debnath
24. Siddiqullah Choudhary

Minister of State (Independent Charge)

25. Becharam Manna
26. Subrata Saha
27. Humayun Kabir
28. Akhil Giri
29. Chandrima Bhattacharya
30. Ratna De Nag
31. Sandhyarani Tudu
32. Bulu Chik Baraik
33. Sujit Bose
34. Indranil Sen

Minister of State

35. Dilip Mondal
36. Akhruzzaman
37. Seuli Saha
38. Srikant Mahato
39. Yeasmin Sabina
40. Birbaha Hansda
41. Jyotsna Mandi
42. Adhikary Paresh Chandra
43. Manoj Tiwari

By Sarkaritel May 10, 2021 11:10

Search the Website

Advertiser’s Logos

Water Conservation

भारत में कई घरों में देखा जाता है की टंकी भर जाने पर भी लोग पानी का सप्लाई बंद नहीं करते हैं, जिससे काफी पानी बर्बाद होता है। Interview with U P Singh (IAS), Secretary, Ministry of Jal Shakti & Drinking Water & Sanitation by Ameya Sathaye, Publisher & Editor-in-Chief,